Connell Foley Partner Kate Murphy to Receive NJSBA 2017 James J. McLaughlin Award

Print PDF

Roseland, New Jersey - December 21, 2016 - Connell Foley LLP is pleased to announce that Kathleen S. Murphy, a partner in the firm's Insurance Defense Group, has been selected by the Executive Committee of the Civil Trial Bar Section of the New Jersey State Bar Association to receive The James J. McLaughlin Award.

This award is presented annually to a member of the bar or judiciary who is “recognized for demonstrating civility, legal competence and professionalism in the practice of Civil Trial Law.” Ms. Murphy will join the ranks of other esteemed Connell Foley recipients of this award, including Judge Eugene J. Codey, Commissioner Richard J. Badolato, Walter Connell and John Lavecchia. David Fried, Esq., of Blume Forte Fried Zerres & Molinari has also been named a 2017 award recipient.

The James J. McLaughlin Award dinner will take place on Thursday, February 16, 2017 at the Hyatt Regency New Brunswick.  For additional information, please visit

Ms. Murphy has extensive trial experience involving the defense of enumerable automobile negligence claims, product liability trials, environmental claims, and employment discrimination claims. She has broad expertise in the Appellate Court, having argued dozens of cases relating to evidential and substantive issues, and is also skilled in Supreme Court matters.

Ms. Murphy is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, one of the premier legal associations in the country.  Fellowship in the College is extended by invitation only to those trial lawyers who have mastered the art of advocacy and professionalism, and is offered to less than one percent of the total lawyer population.  She is also a member of the Fellows of the American Bar Foundation, a prestigious organization that requires elected membership; she was nominated and elected in 2001. She has served on the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since 2004. Ms. Murphy is a member of The American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA). She was elected for membership in 1992, elected Treasurer of the North Jersey chapter from 1997-1998 and served as elected President from 1999-2000. In 1998, Ms. Murphy received the Civil Trial Attorney Achievement Award from the Essex County Bar Association. She was honored in 2013 as the recipient of the Trial Attorneys of New Jersey trial award, and has been named to the Irish Legal 100 for the past two years.

Back to Page